Dinner with Linda Seger… advice!

Had dinner with Linda Seger, author of Making a Good Script Great and a ton of other superb screenwriting books.

Asked, “What is the most common mistake beginning writers make?”

She knew.

“They think it’s easy.”

Really? How could ANYONE think this is easy? They must, though. What an amazing thought.

“And they don’t rewrite. That’s the difference between a professional and an amateur. Amateurs think they’re done. Professionals rewrite and rewrite and rewrite.”

Linda said she never shows anyone anything she’s written until she’s done at least four drafts. She never feels anything is finished until she has done at least ten drafts.

So. Food for thought.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Dinner with Linda Seger… advice!

  1. Clint

    Healthy food.

  2. SA CARPENTER

    Hello Mr. Akers.

    S.A. Carpenter here!

    I wrote another screenplay per your recommendation. It took me awhile to find something that captured my heart and imagination. It’s a romantic comedy. I have had some luck getting the attention of a producer who extended to me the kindness of reviewing my first script. He thinks there just might be something there.

    We’ll see!

    Regarding the revision process… It’s nice to know that I’m not crazy. I’m constantly reviewing and revising the scripts that I’ve written. Two full link features to date. One script is on it’s 16th revision. People ask me all the time what I’m doing constantly rereading the same old scripts.

    It’s never done until it’s in the can, at least that’s my understanding.

    If anyone reading this wants to know the secret to finishing a puke draft the answer is simple. Don’t be afraid to write garbage! Hemingway once said,
    “All first drafts are shit!!!”

    Like I’ve always said. If I can do it, anybody can!

    With the help of Mr. Akers book of course!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    SA CARPENTER

  3. I show my stuff as soon as I can.

    It’s not so much a “Look what I did!” thing as a cry for help.

Leave a Reply

