AUGUST: OSAGE COUNTY

See it, but be sure you know what you’re getting into: a grim family scream-a-thon that makes WHO’S AFRAID OF VIRGINIA WOOLF look like HEIDI.

But, the plot revelations are worth it, but only if you take pen and paper and write them down. The revelations are very well done, come at surprising times and in surprising ways… so it’s a very good learning experience for a writer. At the very end, some may come across as a tad forced.

But, boy, it’s not a lot of fun to watch.
But, the acting is great.
But, who cares? Good acting is not why you go see a movie. One assumes the acting is good when one buys a ticket.

If what you want is great acting, see BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR. Great acting and girl on girl!

No girl on girl or anything resembling fun in AUGUST: OSAGE COUNTY. Stellar dialogue and wonderful plot turns… and sort of an “upbeat” ending. But damn, it’s tough sledding to get there. Sam Shepard’s character turns out to be the smartest one in the room.

When you see it, do let me know if you ever felt that it was hot in that house. Nobody sweated. There were almost no fans in any rooms. A bank sign says it’s 108 degrees, but I never ever once sensed any heat.

One other thought… a perfect example of a Bottle Film… all filmed in one location. This is the kind of movie you want to make if you’re a beginning filmmaker.

Bye now.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “AUGUST: OSAGE COUNTY

  1. I definitely plan to see it, mainly because we saw a (fantastic) local production of the play featuring a dear friend in the role of Johnna.

  2. Josh

    I loved Killer joe by the way! Just saw American Hustle yesterday… Did not care for it. It had great acting but the scenes did not flow. And it started out slow. Lots of parts dragged. Yet the critics are raving over it. I feel like it’s only getting great reviews because of bias towards actors and director. Would be curious of your thoughts if you see it. Happy Holidays!

    • yourscreenplaysucks

      I watched about 40 minutes of AMERICAN HUSTLE and something came up, so I wandered away. I have thought about it… not much… since then. I wondered when watching it, “Who is this movie for?” I didn’t find myself thinking it was wonderful, or worth my time. My son said it gets a lot better, later, so I may throw it in the DVD while I wait for everyone to wake up for Christmas and give it another shot.

      I thought it was just odd, and didn’t make a ton of sense. My son felt like it didn’t hang together like a movie should, so I’ll have that in mind when I sit back down.

      Great acting, sure, but you assume that.
      Interesting characters, and you assume that too.
      The story, at least 40 minutes in, was not one that “felt like a movie,” in that it was compelling enough or “big” enough to warrant all this effort.

      Hmmm.
      Sorry if I didn’t answer your question.
      Hope I love it!

  3. You must be afraid of life–Blue is not even close to the acting, the ensemble, or the directing–let alone the writing of Osage–

    • yourscreenplaysucks

      Don’t know if I’m afraid of life. Doubtful. But, a movie is in the eye of the beholder and I thought BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR was the better movie. Better story. I didn’t care about much of anybody in AUGUST: OSAGE COUNTY. If you don’t care what happens to the characters, then the movie is not a success.

      And, since leaving the theater, I’ve often thought about the lead character in BLUE IS THE WARMEST COLOR. I haven’t thought for a second about anybody in AUGUST: OSAGE COUNTY since I ejected the DVD. It’s well written, well directed, well acted… but not a movie I’d suggest anyone I know spend their time and money seeing.

      To each his own, but for me to give thumbs up to a movie, I have to care about the characters in it. The minor characters, like the one played by Chris Cooper, held my interest more than the leads.

      So it goes.

  4. JT

    What was your thoughts on the film There Will Be Blood?

    Thank You!

    • yourscreenplaysucks

      I remember not liking it much. I had no idea there two brothers… thought it was one guy. Problem would have been solved if they’d showed a photo of the family and we’d know those guys were twins…. It was a while ago. It may be wonderful, but I don’t remember much. I remember it was very well made…

Leave a Reply

