Isolate One Story, and fix it…

Just got finished with a bit of work on my script. What I have done for the past day may be useful to you.

In this piece, the Father / Son relationship is the spine of the tale. It has to work before anything else can work. So, to be able to concentrate on the Father / Son story, I SAVED the entire script AS Father / Son Feb 21.

Then I cut every single scene that is not the Father / Son story. I ended up with a 20 page document that is every scene with Father and Son in it, along with any scenes that directly relate to their story. I printed it. Two pages to a page because I’m so “Green.”

And I beat that to death for a while. Each new draft of the 20 page Father / Son document got SAVED AS with a new date. Printed each one and went to work on it with pair of pliers and a blowtorch, and my trusty red pen.

When you only have one aspect of the story to look at, you can really really drill down in that single relationship. You can concentrate. You see it for what it is, and what it needs to be uncluttered by the other 100 pages of your script. It’s a useful tool.

So, when I had stopped making changes, I cut and pasted the Father / Son pages back into the actual complete script. Some scenes replaced older scenes. Some scenes were new and had to fit in somewhere.

I ALWAYS have scene numbers when I write, as it makes navigation easy. I get rid of them before I send the script out, though.

So, perhaps you’ll find that helpful.
I sure do.

3 Comments

Filed under Good Writing, Rewriting, Scenes, Screenwriting

3 responses to “Isolate One Story, and fix it…

  1. H.H. Nigontyne

    This is an excellent technique, monsieur! Many thanks for generously sharing! Merci!

    • yourscreenplaysucks

      It really really works. I use it a LOT. With different sets of characters. A bit of a struggle to do, but worth the effort.

  2. Great tip!
    Just thinking, this can also help throw into relief how different sides of a character’s personality are brought out by different people. The son is one thing with his father, quite another with his best pal.
    Right! I’m using this.

Leave a Reply

