Print, Print, Print!!

I’m far from home, staying at a buddy’s house by the beach, writing. Shoved two screenplays much further down the line. Got a draft done of a children’s novel. It’s been productivie, but at the cost of a few brain cells because I do not have a printer.

And I have suffered for it, I have to tell you.

I keep finding more reasons to shout out that you need to print your work. This week, I found another.

I came down here with a very very very rough assemblage of scenes for the novel. I had a hard copy of that mess. I went through it and did a re-ordering, re-numbering each scene on paper and then plugging that bunch of decisions back into the computer. So, then I had, in theory, the correct stuff in the correct order. Time to read it and clean it up and do a bit of a language-polish.

Having the ms. in the computer was nice for trimming stuff, because you take a line out and you see the page withouth the offending line, and you can instantly know if it’s an improvement.

What DOESN’T work, and this came up a lot, was when the scene itself needed re-ordering or heavy story editing. Two scenes, written at separate times, one above the other in the computer, became unshirted hell to deal with. My tiny brain is not strong enough to look at pieces that I can’t even see and figure out how to shuffle them into the perfect smooth order. I wept for a hard copy. It would have taken five minutes with a red pen… come up with an order for the parts, do it, print it, mark it up, re-order them in the computer, print it again. Presto!

You’re done.

Otherwise it was agony. Agony, I tell you.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Print, Print, Print!!

  1. Tim B

    Mr A – given your desperation to print, do you really think your printer, any printer come to that, would be so accommodating?

    • yourscreenplaysucks

      Good point. Any printer will print if the guy wanting it to print is not in a hurry. If I had to turn in a hard copy to an editor or an agent, and had to get it to FedEx this afternoon… the printer would fail. Since nobody wants to see what I’ve written, had I a working printer, it would print, no problem. I’m desperate to print ’cause, at the moment, I don’t have a printer.

  2. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google,
    and found that it is really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels.

    I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  3. I’ll immediately clutch your rss feed as I can’t find your
    e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Please permit me realize in order that I may just subscribe.
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

