that pesky “the”

Heard this from a fan in England. Perhaps it applies to your writing…

*

I enjoyed reading this book a while back and, for a test and a bit of light relief have used a couple of chapters to go through my script with.

I used the Tarantino “cut the last two dialogue lines from every scene” rule and – for a few scenes, I have to say it worked really well.

What astonished me though, was the searching and elimination of extraneous “the” s . Now, I’m not the poorest writer that’s been seen but nor am I the best. I expected to find a handful.

I removed 76 extraneous uses of the word “the.”

Bloody hell.

I may do a couple of other run throughs now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

