Storm Out to a Screeching Halt!

I must say I’m a tad weary of seeing this:

He storms out of the room.
and…
The car comes to a screeching halt.

If I’M tired of ’em, how over ’em do you think a reader might be?

Read your stuff. If what you’ve got in there is something you’ve read before, GET RID OF IT.

At the risk of inviting zero comments… what are writing cliches that irritate you?

I also don’t like it when people use words they don’t know. I see these two ALL the time and it bugs me, man. Whaddya bet it bugs readers, too?

Toby was unphased.
For all intensive purposes, it was over for Michelle.

My rant for today.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Storm Out to a Screeching Halt!

  1. Dialog that begins with those two little evil letters — S-O

    JOHN
    So, how are things?

    MARY
    So, what do we do now?

    STEVE
    So, could you please come up original dialog!

    • yourscreenplaysucks

      Danny!
      Yes sir!
      I make a conscious attempt to root that one out of my own writing. Chilling how often I find it there.

      Will

  2. Well, first of all it’s “ALL INTENTS AND PURPOSES,” so yes that one irks me. I was a college professor for 4 years, and I’m over that because of the gigantic cliches I’d seen. Even just the basic describing of actions is cliche enough.

    Cliches I hate:
    My heart was racing.
    I couldn’t believe my eyes.
    I was in shock.
    The day my world collapsed.

    You get the idea. I think it’s a matter of people not knowing how to talk about feelings. Coolly and rationally…the only way to get the point across. (See what I did there?) 🙂

Leave a Reply

