Screenwriting Books

I was asked which books I recommend. This is the handout I give my students.

Your Screenplay Sucks! by William M. Akers
Save The Cat by Blake Snyder
The Writer’s Journey by Christopher Vogler
Screenwriting The Sequence Approach by Paul Gulino
Screenwriting Tips You Hack by Xander Bennett

Anatomy of Story by John Truby
From Where You Dream by Robert Olen Butler
Creating Unforgettable Characters by Linda Seger
Story by Robert McKee (complex, hard to use)

Websites to memorize…

johnaugust.com
wordplayer.com

scripts on line

http://www.script-o-rama.com
http://www.imsdb.com

Carry a notebook in your pocket all the time.
Write down stuff that interests you, every day. Nothing will make you feel like a writer more than that.

Write every single day of the week. One day off, only. Never two.
At least a half an hour. Preferably an hour.
It doesn’t matter what you write, but write something.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Screenwriting Books

  1. I just subscribed to a British film magazine called MovieScope. Being foreign it was spend. But, as a “bonus” they sent me a flash drive with several hundred full-length film scripts and a ton of US TV scripts! That alone made the investment solid. Plus… the rag ain’t bad.

    • yourscreenplaysucks

      Can you send me the subscription info, and all the stuff you got with it, and the price… I’ll put it up on the blog for all to see. That sounds like a heck of a deal. Thank you for suggesting it.

  2. Great summary of resources, William. I’d add:
    http://www.mypdfscripts.com/indexes/script-index-by-title
    as a great place for finding scripts on line.

  3. Daniel

    What about screenplay by syd field? That’s a standard.

    • yourscreenplaysucks

      It’s a standard I am not crazy about. It’s the first book I read on screenwriting. Me and everybody else.

      My problem with it then, and this may have been corrected, is that he doesn’t understand Act II. If you do it his way, there’s a big sag in the middle of your second act. It took me three or four years to get out from under the way he told me to do Act II.

      I have not read his book in decades, and he may have changed that problem.

  4. Pingback: The Best Screenwriting Books Chosen by Screenwriters | The Screenwriting Spark

Leave a Reply

