My new way of writing…

See my post of March 10th.

So far, it’s going well. I’m violating all kinds of my rules, and it’s kinda fun. I’m up to page 14, which doesn’t seem like much but it’s been eons since I even opened the file. So my page rate per day is pretty good. Hovering around 5, which, since I am outlining at the same time, is pretty good.

One of the rules I’m violating is “never go back and rewrite.” We’ll see how badly this rule change slows me down. As the outline shifts, I am going back into the pages and changing whatever I want to, to reflect the constantly shifting outline. I am outlining and writing at the same time. Like working the high wire with a net, sorta. But it’s fun. The back and forth seems to be good. The script makes the outline change and the improving, morphing outline certainly is affecting the script.

I’ll let you know how it goes, as it goes… if it goes, but so far so good.

And it’s fun.
THAT is not a word I normally associate with outlines.

2 Comments

Filed under Screenwriting, Writing Process

2 responses to “My new way of writing…

  1. Isn’t the whole point of learning (or in your case writing) the rules that you can then break them?

    • yourscreenplaysucks

      You gotta know the rules. Some you can break. Some you can’t. The better you know them, the better off you are when you break them. Rule #1 not to break… don’t be boring. You can be SLOW, but you can’t be boring. Tighter is better. Of course, too tight is not understandable. One rule you can’t break is… it has to be clear to the reader. Hey, perhaps I’ll write a blog about it!

Leave a Reply

