Most Powerful Sentence in the Paragraph is LAST

“I signed a contract to buy a house that included a fully fenced in backyard. I am ready and willing to close on the house tomorrow as contracted.  I understand part of the fence has been removed.  I want to close on the house with a replacement fence.  However, I will agree to closing without a fence provided that the proceeds are reduced by the amount necessary to replace the fence.  I will take the responsibility to replace the fence with the money.  Otherwise, I believe you are in breach of contract.”

Most critical words in the paragraph? “I believe”

Why?

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Most Powerful Sentence in the Paragraph is LAST

  1. Scott

    It’s the pivot.

  2. Carol Ann

    The words ‘I believe’ carry more weight.
    Picking the best word or phrase to get the point across would be my answer to your question.

    • yourscreenplaysucks

      “I believe” keeps you out of a nasty lawsuit.
      If you don’t have “I believe” in there, it means you are stating a fact. If you are just giving opinion, they can’t sue you (as easily.)
      At least, that is my appreciation of that phrase.

  3. SA CARPENTER

    I would have to ask if the question’s regarding legality or a thematic statement for a script. “I believe” could be the phrase which kick starts the story as we now have to learn why this character believes what he/she believes is the truth.

    Sounds like the makings for a Hallmark Channel movie. arrrgh!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • yourscreenplaysucks

      “I believe” keeps you out of a nasty lawsuit.
      If you don’t have “I believe” in there, it means you are stating a fact. If you are just giving opinion, they can’t sue you (as easily.)
      At least, that is my appreciation of that phrase.
      If you say the sentence without the “I believe” I believe they can sue you.
      See how it works?!

Leave a Reply

